Overview

The Private Pilot License (PPL) is your introduction to powered flight. To be allowed to fly an aircraft with an engine, you need a private pilot's license with a so-called class rating for single engine piston aircraft (Single Engine Piston/SEP). This class of aircraft has typical cruising speeds between 200 km/h and 400 km/h and a range of 600 km to about 2100 km. Most aircraft in this class have between 2 and 6 seats and therefore offer ample passenger space.

 Sunset flight over the Wechselgebiet

We train you according to the latest European regulations for the licensing of aircraft crews (EU Flight Crew Licensing/EU-FCL). This means that you are immediately allowed to fly with all aircraft licensed in the European Union, which was not possible before without additional steps.

In contrast to ultralight or powered glider training, this license is internationally valid and also gives you all the options to begin a wide variety of additional training and further education, such as flying larger aircraft with multiple engines (Multi-Engine Piston/MEP), flying at night (Night Visual Flight Rating/NVFR), flying by instruments (Instrument Rating / IR) or entry into professional flying (Professional Pilot License/Commercial Pilot License/CPL), either immediately afterwards or at any later time.

The training consists of a theory part and the flight training. The theory training can be started at any time, the flight training can be started in coordination with our flight instructors.

Many interested parties perform a trial flight before starting flight training to get a first impression.

Theory training

 our Katana DA20

The theory training comprehensively prepares you for the computer-based theoretical examination at the Austrian aviation authority Austrocontrol. In the course of the theory training, you will learn everything you need for the theoretical exam, but especially for later flight practice. The theoretical exam for the PPL is typically conducted in German.

We use a combination of classroom training in our modern and conveniently located seminar hotel (InterCity Seminarhotel, 1070 Vienna, Mariahilfer Strasse 122 or, if necessary, at other training locations) and computer-assisted self-study accompanied by our teachers. There is also the possibility of individual theory training.

The curriculum includes:
  • Air law and air traffic regulations
    (e.g., national and international air law, ICAO, air traffic regulations, air traffic services, EASA).
  • General aircraft knowledge
    (e.g., airframe, engine, fuel systems, propeller, engine operation, flight instruments, electrical system, vacuum system).
  • Flight performance and flight planning
    (e.g., mass and center of gravity position, takeoff, landing, cruise flight).
  • Human performance
    (e.g., pressure effects, vision, hearing, motion sickness, flight fitness, information processing, stress).
  • Meteorology
    (e.g., atmosphere, pressure/density/temperature, precipitation, wind, cloud formation, air masses, fronts, icing, thunderstorms, climatology).
  • Navigation
    (e.g., globe, cartography, fundamentals of navigation, navigation calculations, flight planning, practical navigation, radio navigation, satellite navigation, radar fundamentals).
  • Aeronautical Operations Procedures
    (e.g., aircraft operations, search/rescue, aircraft accidents, noise mitigation).
  • Aerodynamics
    (e.g., aircraft design, flows, air forces, control systems, stalls and spins, stabilities, load multipliers).
  • Radio practice incl. training for the acquisition of the radio operator certificate
    (e.g. radiotelephony basics, departure, cruise, approach procedures, ground procedures, emergency and urgent procedures).

flight training

The flight training can be started at the same time as the theory training. In total, the flight training consists of at least 45 training hours and includes the following training blocks:

pre-flight control

Taxiing and behavior at the airfield

Takeoff and landing with and without crosswind

emergency procedure

course laps

sight- and radio navigation

solo flights

cross country / en route flights

flights to local and international airports

special- and custom procedures

In the course of the training you will be familiarized with all phases of flight preparation and execution, in order to finally be able to carry out flights on your own and without the support of the flight instructor. For reasons of cost and efficiency, we conduct the practical training primarily at the airfield Wiener Neustadt east as well as on airports and airfields in Austria and parts of the EU. If desired, the training can of course also be conducted at other airports.

Privatpilotenschein

   The EU-FCL private pilot licence

In our ATO a number of flight instructors are at your disposal to accompany and support you during your training. All our flight instructors are professional pilots and provide you with up-to-date training at a high level. In order to achieve the best possible training for you, we tailor the PPL training to your individual needs.

You do not need any special talent or extraordinary physical fitness for the pilot training. Average health and average psychological and physical abilities are enough to complete the entire training without any problems.

The minimum age to take the final exam to obtain a PPL is 17, but training can begin before that. You will also need proof of medical fitness, as determined by a flight surgeon. We are happy to recommend a flight surgeon.

duration of training

The duration of training is highly dependent on your personal time budget and typically lasts between 6 weeks and 9 months. The more time you reserve for theoretical and practical training, the faster you will progress. We can always provide you with the shortest possible training time for your private pilot's license.

Cockpit of one of our modern Cirrus aircraft
Final approach with a G1000 equipped aircraft (c) D.Tscholl

Überblick

Der Privatpilotenschein (PPL) ist Ihr Einstieg in das Motorfliegen. Um ein Flugzeug mit einem Motor fliegen zu dürfen, benötigen Sie einen Privatpilotenschein mit einer sog. Klassenberechtigung für einmotorige Kolbenflugzeuge (Single Engine Piston/SEP). Diese Flugzeugklasse hat typische Reisegeschwindigkeiten zwischen 200 km/h und 400 km/h und eine Reichweite von 600 km bis ca. 2100 km. Die meisten Flugzeuge dieser Klasse haben zwischen 2 und 6 Sitzplätzen und bieten daher reichlich Platz für Passagiere.

 Flug im Sonnenuntergang über dem Wechselgebiet

Wir bilden Sie bereits nach den aktuellsten europäische Bestimmungen für die Lizenzierung von Luftfahrzeugbesatzungen (EU Flight Crew Licensing/EU-FCL) aus. Das bedeutet für Sie, dass Sie sofort mit allen in der Europäischen Union zugelassenen Flugzeugen fliegen dürfen, was zuvor nicht ohne zusätzliche Schritte möglich war.

Im Unterschied zur Ultraleicht- oder Motorgleiterausbildung ist diese Lizenz international gültig und gibt Ihnen zudem auch alle Möglichkeiten, gleich im Anschluss oder zu einem beliebigen späteren Zeitpunkt verschiedenste Zusatzausbildungen und Weiterbildungen wie z.B. das Fliegen von größeren Flugzeugen mit mehreren Motoren (Multi-Engine Piston/MEP), das Fliegen in der Nacht (Night Visual Flight Rating/NVFR), das Fliegen nach Instrumenten (Instrument Rating / IR) oder den Einstieg in die berufliche Fliegerei (Berufspilotenlizenz/Commercial Pilot License/CPL) zu beginnen.

Die Ausbildung besteht aus einem Theorieteil und der Flugausbildung. Die Theorieausbildung kann jederzeit begonnen werden, die Flugausbildung kann in Abstimmung mit unseren Fluglehrern begonnen werden.

Viele Interessenten führen vor Beginn der Flugausbildung einen Schnupperflug durch, um sich einen ersten Eindruck zu verschaffen.

Theorieausbildung

 Unsere Katana DA20

Die Theorieausbildung bereitet Sie umfassend auf die computergestützten theoretische Prüfung bei der österreichischen Luftfahrbehörde Austrocontrol vor. Im Verlauf der Theorieausbildung lernen Sie alles, was Sie für die theoretische Prüfung aber v.a. auch für die spätere Flugpraxis benötigen. Die theoretische Prüfung für den PPL erfolgt typischerweise auf Deutsch.

Zur Theorieausbildung nutzen wir eine Kombination aus Präsenzschulung in unserem modernen und verkehrsgünstig gelegenen Seminarhotel (InterCity Seminarhotel,  1070 Wien, Mariahilfer Strasse 122 bzw. falls erforderlich auch an anderen Schulungsorten) und computergestützem, durch unserer Lehrer begleitetem Selbststudium. Natürlich besteht auch die die Möglichkeit zu individuellen Theorieschulungen.

Der Lehrplan umfasst:
  • Luftrecht und Luftverkehrsregeln
    (z.B. nationales und internationales Luftrecht, ICAO, Luftverkehrsregeln, Luftverkehrsdienste, EASA)
  • Allgemeine Luftfahrzeugkenntnisse
    (z.B. Zelle, Triebwerk, Kraftstoffanlagen, Propeller, Triebwerksbedienung, Fluginstrumente, Elektrische Anlage, Vakuum-System)
  • Flugleistung und Flugplanung
    (z.B. Masse und Schwerpunktlage, Start, Landung, Reiseflug)
  • Menschliches Leistungsvermögen
    (z.B. Druckauswirkungen, Sehvermögen, Hörvermögen, Reisekrankheit, Fliegerische Fitness, Informationsverarbeitung, Stress)
  • Meteorologie
    (z.B. Atmosphäre, Druck/Dichte/Temperatur, Niederschlag, Wind, Wolkenbildung, Luftmassen, Fronten, Vereisung, Gewitter, Klimatologie)
  • Navigation
    (z.B. Erdkugel, Kartenkunde, Grundlagen der Navigation, Navigationsrechnungen, Flugplanung, praktische Navigation, Radionavigation, Satellitennavigation, Radargrundlagen)
  • Flugbetriebliche Verfahren
    (z.B. Betrieb von Flugzeugen, Such-/Rettungsdienst, Flugunfälle, Lärmminderung)
  • Aerodynamik
    (z.B. Flugzeugdesign, Strömungen, Luftkräfte, Steuerungsanlagen, Strömungsabriss und Trudeln, Stabilitäten, Lastvielfache)
  • Funkpraxis inkl. Ausbildung für den Erwerb des Funkerzeugnisses
    (zB. Sprechfunkgrundlagen, Abflug-, Reiseflug-, Anflugverfahren, Bodenverfahren, Not- und Dringlichkeitsverfahren)

Flugausbildung

Die Flugausbildung kann zeitgleich mit der Theorieausbildung begonnen werden. Insgesamt besteht die Flugausbildung aus mind. 45 Ausbildungsstunden und umfasst folgende Ausbildungsblöcke:

Vorflugkontrolle

Rollen und Verhalten am Flugplatz

Starten und Landen mit und ohne Seitenwind

Notverfahren

Platzrunden

Sicht- und Radio-Navigation

Solo-Flüge

Überland- / Streckenflüge

Flüge zu lokalen und internationalen Flugplätzen

Spezial- und Sonderverfahren

Im Verlauf der Ausbildung werden Sie Schritt für Schritt mit allen Phasen der Flugvorbereitung und Durchführung vertraut gemacht, um schließlich Flüge alleine und ohne Unterstützung des Fluglehrers durchführen zu können. Die praktische Ausbildung führen wir aus Kosten- und Effizienzgründen mit Schwerpunkt am Fluplatz Wiener Neustadt Ost sowie auf den Flughäfen und Flugfeldern Österreichs sowie Teilen der EU durch. Auf Wunsch kann die Ausbildung natürlich auch an anderen Flughäfen durchgeführt werden.

Privatpilotenschein

   Der EU-FCL Privatpilotenschein

In unserer ATO steht ihnen eine Reihe von Fluglehrern zur Verfügung, die Sie bei Ihrer Ausbildung begleiten und unterstützen. Alle unsere Fluglehrer sind als Berufspiloten tätig und ermöglichen Ihnen eine zeitgemäße Ausbildung auf hohem Niveau. Um eine optimale Ausbildung für Sie zu erreichen, stimmen wir die PPL-Ausbildung auf Ihre individuellen Bedürfnisse ab.

Für die Pilotenausbildung benötigen Sie kein besonderes Talent und keine außergewöhnliche körperliche Fitness. Durchschnittliche Gesundheit und durchschnittliche psychologische und körperliche Fähigkeiten reichen völlig aus, um die gesamte Ausbildung ohne Probleme zu absolvieren.

Das Mindestalter für die Abschlussprüfung zum Erhalt eines PPL ist 17 Jahre, die Ausbildung kann aber schon vorher begonnen werden. Außerdem benötigen Sie den Nachweis der medizinischen Tauglichkeit, die von einem Fliegerarzt festgestellt wird. Wir empfehlen Ihnen gerne einen Fliegerarzt.

Ausbildungsdauer

Die Ausbildungsdauer ist stark abhängig von Ihrem persönlichem Zeitbudget und dauert typischerweise zwischen 6 Wochen und 9 Monaten. Je mehr Zeit Sie für die theoretische und praktische Ausbildung reservieren, desto rascher kommen Sie in der Ausbildung voran. Wir ermöglichen Ihnen auf Wunsch in jedem Fall die kürzest mögliche Ausbildungszeit zum Privatpilotenschein.

Cockpit einer unseren modernen Cirrus-Flugzeuge
Endanflug mit einem G1000 ausgestatteten Flugzeug (c) D.Tscholl